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18VAC105-20-5. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Acute pain” means pain that occurs within the normal course of a disease or condition for which
controlled substances may be prescribed for no more than three months.

"Active clinical practice™ means an average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year of providing
patient care.

"Adnexa" is defined as the conjoined, subordinate, or immediately associated anatomic parts of the
human eye, including eyelids and eyebrows.

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Optometry.

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond the normal course of a disease or
condition for which controlled substances may be prescribed for a period greater than three months.

"Controlled substance” means drugs listed in the Drug Control Act (8§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code
of Virginia) in Schedules 11 through V.

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent.
"NBEO" means the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.

"Prescription Monitoring Program” means the electronic system within the Department of Health
Professions that monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances.

"TMOD" means the treatment and management of ocular disease portion of the NBEO examination.
"TPA" means therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

"TPA certification" means authorization by the Virginia Board of Optometry for an optometrist to
treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa and to prescribe and
administer certain therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

18VAC105-20-10. Requirements for licensure.

A. The applicant, in order to be eligible for licensure to practice optometry in the Commonwealth,
shall meet the requirements for TPA certification in 18VAC105-20-16 and shall:

1. Be a graduate of a school of optometry accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric
Education or other accrediting body deemed by the board to be substantially equivalent; have an
official transcript verifying graduation sent to the board,;
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2. Request submission of an official report from the NBEO of a score received on each required
part of the NBEO examination or other board-approved examination;

3. Submit a completed application and the prescribed fee; and

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, understands, and will comply with the
statutes and regulations governing the practice of optometry in Virginia.

B. The board may waive the requirement of graduation from an accredited school of optometry for
an applicant who holds a current, unrestricted license in another United States jurisdiction and has
been engaged in active clinical practice for 36 out of the 60 months immediately preceding
application for licensure in Virginia.

C. Required examinations. For the purpose of § 54.1-3211 of the Code of Virginia, the board adopts
all parts of the NBEO examination as its written examination for licensure. After July 1, 1997, the
board shall require passage as determined by the board of Parts I, Il, and 11l of the NBEO
examination, including passage of TMOD.

D. If an applicant has been licensed in another jurisdiction, the following requirements shall also
apply:

1. The applicant shall attest that the applicant is not a respondent in a pending or unresolved
malpractice claim.

2. Each jurisdiction in which the applicant is or has been licensed shall verify that:
a. The license is current and unrestricted, or if the license has lapsed, it is eligible for reinstatement;
b. All continuing education requirements have been completed, if applicable;
c. The applicant is not a respondent in any pending or unresolved board action; and

d. The applicant has not committed any act that would constitute a violation of § 54.1-3204 or 54.1-
3215 of the Code of Virginia.

3. An applicant licensed in another jurisdiction who has not been engaged in active practice
within the 12 months immediately preceding application for licensure in Virginia shall be
required to complete 20 hours of continuing education as specified in 18VAC105-20-70.

4. In the case of a federal service optometrist, the commanding officer shall also verify that the
applicant is in good standing.

18VAC105-20-15. (Repealed.)

18VAC105-20-16. Requirements for TPA certification.
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A. An applicant for licensure shall meet the following requirements for TPA certification:

1. Complete a full-time, postgraduate or equivalent graduate-level optometric training program
that is approved by the board and that shall include a minimum of 20 hours of clinical supervision
by an ophthalmologist; and

2. Submit a passing score on the TPA certification examination, which shall be TMOD or be
TPA-certified by an examination satisfactory to the board.

B. A candidate for certification by the board who fails the examination as required in subdivision A
2 of this section, following three attempts, shall complete additional postgraduate training as
determined by the board to be eligible for TPA certification.

18VAC105-20-20. Fees.

A. Required fees.

Initial application and licensure (including TPA certification) $250
Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification $150
Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification $200
Annual renewal of inactive license $100
Late renewal without TPA certification $50
Late renewal with TPA certification $65
Late renewal of inactive license $35
Handling fee for returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card $50
Reinstatement application fee (including renewal and late fees) $400
Reinstatement application after disciplinary action $500
Duplicate wall certificate $25
Duplicate license $10
Licensure verification $10

B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.

C. From October 31, 2018, to December 31, 2018, the following fees shall be in effect:
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Annual licensure renewal without TPA certification $75
Annual licensure renewal with TPA certification $100

Annual professional designation renewal (per location) $25

18VAC105-20-30. (Repealed.)

18VAC105-20-40. Standards of conduct.

The board has the authority to refuse to issue or renew a license, suspend, revoke, or otherwise
discipline a licensee for a violation of the following standards of conduct. A licensed optometrist
shall:

1. Use in connection with the optometrist's name wherever it appears relating to the practice of
optometry one of the following: the word "optometrist,” the abbreviation "O.D.," or the words
"doctor of optometry."

2. Notify the board of any disciplinary action taken by a regulatory body in another jurisdiction.

3. Post in an area of the optometric office that is conspicuous to the public a chart or directory
listing the names of all optometrists practicing at that particular location.

4. Maintain patient records, perform procedures or make recommendations during any eye
examination, contact lens examination, or treatment as necessary to protect the health and welfare
of the patient and consistent with requirements of 18VAC105-20-45.

5. Notify patients in the event the practice is to be terminated or relocated, giving a reasonable
time period within which the patient or an authorized representative can request in writing that
the records or copies be sent to any other like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or
destroyed in compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia on the transfer
of patient records in conjunction with closure, sale, or relocation of practice.

6. Ensure his access to the practice location during hours in which the practice is closed in order
to be able to properly evaluate and treat a patient in an emergency.

7. Provide for continuity of care in the event of an absence from the practice or, in the event the
optometrist chooses to terminate the practitioner-patient relationship or make his services
unavailable, document notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the
services of another practitioner.
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8. Comply with the provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the
confidentiality and disclosure of patient records and related to the provision of patient records to
another practitioner or to the patient or his personal representative.

9. Treat or prescribe based on a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship consistent with criteria
set forth in § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. A licensee shall not prescribe a controlled
substance to himself or a family member other than Schedule V1 as defined in § 54.1-3455 of the
Code of Virginia. When treating or prescribing for self or family, the practitioner shall maintain a
patient record documenting compliance with statutory criteria for a bona fide practitioner-patient
relationship.

10. Comply with provisions of statute or regulation, state or federal, relating to the diversion,
distribution, dispensing, prescribing, or administration of controlled substances as defined in §
54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.

11. Not enter into a relationship with a patient that constitutes a professional boundary violation
in which the practitioner uses his professional position to take advantage of the vulnerability of a
patient or his family to include actions that result in personal gain at the expense of the patient, a
nontherapeutic personal involvement, or sexual conduct with a patient. The determination of
when a person is a patient is made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the nature,
extent, and context of the professional relationship between the practitioner and the person. The
fact that a person is not actively receiving treatment or professional services from a practitioner is
not determinative of this issue. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or
involvement with a practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the conduct nor negate
the prohibition.

12. Cooperate with the board or its representatives in providing information or records as
requested or required pursuant to an investigation or the enforcement of a statute or regulation.

13. Not violate or cooperate with others in violating any of the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-
100 et seq.), 24 (8 54.1-2400 et seq.) or 32 (8 54.1-3200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia or regulations of the board.

18VAC105-20-41. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-finding proceedings to an agency

subordinate.

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with 8 54.1-2400 (10) of the Code of Virginia, the board

may delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon determination that
probable cause exists that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action.
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B. Criteria for delegation. Cases may be delegated to an agency subordinate upon approval by a
committee of the board, except those in which an optometrist may have conducted his practice in
such a manner as to endanger the health and welfare of his patients or the public.

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding
may include current or past board members and professional staff or other persons deemed
knowledgeable by virtue of their training and experience in administrative proceedings involving
the regulation and discipline of health professionals.

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of appropriately qualified persons to whom an
informal fact-finding proceeding may be delegated.

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the selection of the agency subordinate who
is deemed appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on the qualifications of the
subordinate and the type of case being heard.

18VAC105-20-45. Standards of practice.

A. An optometrist shall legibly document in a patient record the following:
1. During a routine or medical eye examination:

a. An adequate case history, including the patient's chief complaint;

b. The performance of appropriate testing;

c. The establishment of an assessment or diagnosis; and

d. A recommendation for an appropriate treatment or management plan, including any necessary
follow-up.

2. During an initial contact lens examination:

a. The requirements of a routine or medical eye examination as prescribed in subdivision 1 of this
subsection;

b. Assessment of corneal curvature;
c. Evaluation of contact lens fitting;
d. Acuity through the lens; and

e. Directions for the wear, care, and handling of lenses.
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3. During a follow-up contact lens examination:
a. Evaluation of contact lens fitting and anterior segment health;
b. Acuity through the lens; and
c. Such further instructions as necessary for the individual patient.

4. In addition, the record of any examination shall include the signature of the attending
optometrist and, if indicated, refraction of the patient.

B. The following information shall appear on a prescription for ophthalmic goods:
1. The printed name of the prescribing optometrist;

2. The address and telephone number at which the patient's records are maintained and the
optometrist can be reached for consultation;

3. The name of the patient;
4. The signature of the optometrist;
5. The date of the examination;

6. If an expiration date is placed on a prescription for ophthalmic goods, the date shall not be less
than one year unless the medical reason for a shorter expiration date is documented in the patient
record; and

7. Any special instructions.
C. Contact lens.

1. Sufficient information for complete and accurate filling of an established contact lens
prescription shall include (i) the power, (ii) the material or manufacturer or both, (iii) the base
curve or appropriate designation, (iv) the diameter when appropriate, and (v) medically
appropriate expiration date.

2. An optometrist shall provide a patient with a copy of the patient's contact lens prescription at
the end of the contact lens fitting, even if the patient does not ask for it. An optometrist may first
require all fees to be paid, but only if he requires immediate payment from patients whose eye
examinations reveal no need for corrective eye products.

3. An optometrist shall provide or verify the prescription to anyone who is designated to act on
behalf of the patient, including contact lens sellers.
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4. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy contact lenses, pay additional fees, or sign a
waiver or release in exchange for a copy of the contact lens prescription.

5. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or responsibility for the accuracy of an eye
examination.

D. Spectacle lens.

1. A licensed optometrist shall provide a written prescription for spectacle lenses immediately
after the eye examination is completed. He may first require all fees to be paid, but only if he
requires immediate payment from patients whose eye examinations reveal no need for corrective
eye products.

2. An optometrist shall not require patients to buy ophthalmic goods, pay additional fees, or sign
a waiver or release in exchange for a copy of the spectacle prescription.

3. An optometrist shall not disclaim liability or responsibility for the accuracy of an eye
examination.

E. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years following the last patient
encounter with the following exceptions:

1. Records that have previously been transferred to another practitioner or health care provider or
provided to the patient or his personal representative; or

2. Records that are required by contractual obligation or federal law to be maintained for a longer
period of time.

F. Practitioners shall post information or in some manner inform all patients concerning the time
frame for record retention and destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a manner that
protects patient confidentiality.

G. For the purpose of prescribing spectacles, eyeglasses, lenses, or contact lenses to a patient, a
licensee shall establish a bona fide provider-patient relationship in accordance with requirements of
§ 54.1-2400.01:2 of the Code of Virginia.

18VAC105-20-46. Treatment guidelines for TPA-certified optometrists.

A. TPA-certified optometrists may treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its
adnexa that may be treated with medically appropriate pharmaceutical agents as referenced in
18VAC105-20-47.

B. In addition, the following may be treated:
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1. Glaucoma (excluding the treatment of congenital and infantile glaucoma). Treatment of angle
closure shall follow the definition and protocol prescribed in subsection C of this section.

2. Ocular-related post-operative care in cooperation with patient's surgeon.
3. Ocular trauma to the above tissues as in subsection A of this section.
4. Uveitis.
5. Anaphylactic shock (limited to the administration of intramuscular epinephrine).
C. The definition and protocol for treatment of angle closure glaucoma shall be as follows:

1. As used in this chapter, angle closure glaucoma shall mean a closed angle in the involved eye
with significantly increased intraocular pressure, and corneal microcystic edema;

2. Treatment shall be limited to the initiation of immediate emergency care with appropriate
pharmaceutical agents as prescribed by this chapter;

3. Once the diagnosis of angle closure glaucoma has been established by the optometrist, the
ophthalmologist to whom the patient is to be referred should be contacted immediately;

4. If there are no medical contraindications, an oral osmotic agent may be administered as well as
an oral carbonic anhydrase inhibitor and any other medically accepted, Schedule 111, 1V or VI,
oral antiglaucomic agent as may become available; and

5. Proper topical medications as appropriate may also be administered by the optometrist.

D. An oral Schedule VI immunosuppressive agent shall only be used when (i) the condition fails to
appropriately respond to any other treatment regimen; (ii) such agent is prescribed in consultation
with a physician; and (iii) treatment with such agent includes monitoring of systemic effects.

18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of his practice, may procure, administer,
and prescribe medically appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any therapeutically
appropriate combination thereof) to treat diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its
adnexa within the following categories:

1. Oral analgesics - Schedule 11 controlled substances consisting of hydrocodone in combination
with acetaminophen and Schedules 111, IV, and VI narcotic and nonnarcotic agents.
2. Topically administered Schedule VI agents:

a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents;
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b. Alpha-adrenergic agonists;
c. Anesthetic (including esters and amides);
d. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cell stabilizers);
e. Anti-fungal,
f. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase inhibitors and hyperosmotics);
g. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals);
h. Anti-inflammatory;
i Cycloplegics and mydriatics;
j. Decongestants; and
k. Immunosuppressive agents.
3. Orally administered Schedule VI agents:
a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents);
b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene inhibitors);
c. Anti-fungal,
d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase inhibitors and hyperosmotics);
e. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals);
f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and nonsteroidal);
g. Decongestants; and
h. Immunosuppressive agents.

B. Schedules I, Il, and V drugs are excluded from the list of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents with
the exception of controlled substances in Schedule 11 consisting of hydrocodone in combination
with acetaminophen and gabapentin in Schedule V.

C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the treatment of the eye and its adnexa may be
procured for administration, administered, prescribed, or dispensed.

18VAC105-20-48. Prescribing an opioid for acute pain.
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A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain shall be given consideration prior to
treatment with opioids. If an opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute pain, a TPA-
certified optometrist shall follow the regulations for prescribing and treating with opioids.

B. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance containing an opioid for a complaint of
acute pain, a TPA-certified optometrist shall perform a health history and physical examination
appropriate to the complaint, query the Prescription Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-
2522.1 of the Code of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the patient’s history and risk of
substance abuse.

C. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients with acute pain shall include the following:

1. A prescription for an opioid shall be a short-acting opioid in the lowest effective dose for the
fewest number of days, not to exceed seven days as determined by the manufacturer's directions
for use, unless extenuating circumstances are clearly documented in the patient record.

2. A TPA-certified optometrist shall carefully consider and document in the patient record the
reasons to exceed 50 MME per day.

3. A prescription for naloxone should be considered for any patient when any risk factor of prior
overdose, substance misuse, or concomitant use of benzodiazepine is present.

D. If another prescription for an opioid is to be written beyond seven days, a TPA-certified
optometrist shall:

1. Reevaluate the patient and document in the patient record the continued need for an opioid
prescription; and

2. Check the patient's prescription history in the Prescription Monitoring Program.

E. The patient record shall include a description of the pain, a presumptive diagnosis for the origin
of the pain, an examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, and the medication
prescribed (including date, type, dosage, strength, and quantity prescribed).

F. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are prescribed for a patient also taking
benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, tramadol, or carisoprodol, a TPA-certified optometrist shall
only co-prescribe these substances when there are extenuating circumstances and shall document in
the patient record a tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if these medications
are prescribed.

18VAC105-20-49. Prescribing an opioid for chronic pain.
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If a TPA-certified optometrist treats a patient for whom an opioid prescription is necessary for
chronic pain, he shall either:

1. Refer the patient to a doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine who is a pain management
specialist; or

2. Comply with regulations of the Board of Medicine, 18VAC85-21-60 through
18VAC85-21-120, if he chooses to manage the chronic pain with an opioid prescription.

18VAC105-20-50. (Repealed.)

18VAC105-20-60. Renewal of licensure; reinstatement; renewal fees.

A. Every person authorized by the board to practice optometry shall, on or before December 31 of
2018, submit a completed renewal form and pay the prescribed annual licensure fee. Beginning with
calendar year 2020, the renewal of licensure deadline shall be March 31 of each year. For calendar
year 2019, no renewal is required.

B. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to assure that the board has the licensee's
current address of record and the public address, if different from the address of record. All changes
of address or name shall be furnished to the board within 30 days after the change occurs. All
notices required by law or by these rules and regulations are to be deemed to be validly tendered
when mailed to the address of record given and shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to
comply.

C. The license of every person who does not complete the renewal form and submit the renewal fee
each year may be renewed for up to one year by paying the prescribed renewal fee and late fee,
provided the requirements of 18VAC105-20-70 have been met. After the renewal deadline, a
license that has not been renewed is lapsed. Practicing optometry in Virginia with a lapsed license
may subject the licensee to disciplinary action.

D. An optometrist whose license has been lapsed for more than one year and who wishes to resume
practice in Virginia shall apply for reinstatement. The executive director may grant reinstatement
provided that:

1. The applicant has a current, unrestricted license in another United States jurisdiction and has
been engaged in active clinical practice within the 12 months immediately preceding application
for reinstatement; or

2. The applicant has satisfied current requirements for continuing education as specified in
18VAC105-20-70 for the period in which the license has been lapsed, not to exceed two years;
and
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3. The applicant has paid the prescribed reinstatement application fee.

18VAC105-20-61. Inactive licensure; reactivation.

A. An optometrist who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia may, upon a request on the
renewal application and submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. The holder of
an inactive license shall not be required to maintain continuing education requirements and shall not
perform any act requiring a license to practice optometry in Virginia.

B. A licensee whose license has been inactive and who requests reactivation to an active license
shall file an application, pay the difference between the inactive and active renewal fees for the
current year, and provide documentation of having completed continuing education hours equal to
the requirement for the number of years in which the license has been inactive, not to exceed 40
contact hours.

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education.

A. Each license renewal of an active license shall be conditioned upon submission of evidence to
the board of 20 hours of continuing education taken by the applicant during the previous license
period. A licensee who completes more than 20 hours of continuing education in a year shall be
allowed to carry forward up to 10 hours of continuing education for the next annual renewal cycle.

1. The 20 hours may include up to two hours of recordkeeping for patient care, including coding

for diagnostic and treatment devices and procedures or the management of an optometry practice,
provided that such courses are not primarily for the purpose of augmenting the licensee's income

or promoting the sale of specific instruments or products.

2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least 10
of the required continuing education hours shall be in the areas of ocular and general
pharmacology; diagnosis and treatment of the human eye and its adnexa, including treatment
with new pharmaceutical agents; new or advanced clinical devices, techniques, modalities, or
procedures; or pain management.

3. At least 10 hours shall be obtained through real-time, interactive activities, including in-person
or electronic presentations, provided that during the course of the presentation, the licensee and
the lecturer may communicate with one another.

4. A licensee may also include up to two hours of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR).

5. Two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal may be satisfied through delivery of
professional services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health services
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through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery
of those services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for three hours of providing
such volunteer services, as documented by the health department or free clinic.

B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing education hours on the required annual
renewal form. All continuing education shall be completed prior to the renewal deadline unless an
extension has been granted by the Continuing Education Committee. A request for an extension
shall be received prior to the renewal deadline of each year.

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an approved sponsor or accrediting body
listed in subsection H of this section. Courses that are not approved by a board-recognized sponsor
in advance shall not be accepted for continuing education credit. For those courses that have a post-
test requirement, credit will only be given if the optometrist receives a passing grade as indicated on
the certificate.

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education documentation for a period of not less than three
years. A random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board which will require that the
licensee provide evidence substantiating participation in required continuing education courses
within 30 days of the audit notification.

E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of the continuing education provider and
its affiliation with an approved sponsor or accrediting body as listed in subsection H of this section.
Documents that do not have the required information shall not be accepted by the board for
determining compliance. Correspondence courses shall be credited according to the date indicated
on the continuing education certificate.

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing competency requirements for the first renewal
following the date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond
the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially
declared disasters.

H. An approved continuing education course or program, whether offered by correspondence,
electronically, or in person, shall be sponsored, accredited, or approved by one of the following:

1. The American Optometric Association and its constituent organizations.
2. Regional optometric organizations.
3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local societies.

4. Accredited colleges and universities providing optometric or medical courses.
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5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate organizations.

6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its affiliate organizations.
7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.

8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE).

9. State or federal governmental agencies.

10. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education of the American Medical
Association for Category 1 credit.

12. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).
13. Optometric Extension Program.

I. In order to receive credit for continuing education courses, a licensee shall submit a certificate
that shows:

1. The date, location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course, and contact information
of the provider or sponsor for verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on
verification by the sponsor of the attendee's presence throughout the course, either provided by a
post-test or by a designated monitor.

2. Whether the course was in real-time and interactive, including in-person or electronic
presentations.

J. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing education on a renewal form or failure to
comply with continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to disciplinary action by the
board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 of the Code of Virginia.

18VAC105-20-75. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any optometrist who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to
practice on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit
organization that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least five
business days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be
considered,
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2. Provide a complete list of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license
and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary
provision of services;

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to
its compliance with provisions of subdivision 2 of § 54.1-3202 of the Code of Virginia.
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NATIONAL BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY®

Six-Time Limit Appeals Change

Released: July 14, 2021

After multiple discussions with the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO), NBEO
will be implementing a change to our six-time limit appeals process. Effective January 1, 2022, a
member of a U.S. state or Canadian provincial regulatory board will no longer sponsor candidates
who have exceeded the six-time limit. Sponsors must be a CAO or a CEO of an ACOE-accredited
optometric institution. Members of NBEO's Board of Directors will not serve as sponsors.

Click here to review the Six-Time Limit Policy.

If you have any questions, click here to contact NBEO.

ADVANCING THE ASSESSMENT OF COMPETENCE®

About NBEO — Established in 1951, NBEO is an independent, non-governmental, non-profit organization whose examinations are universally
accepted for optometric licensure in the United States and accepted internationally. NBEQ’s mission is to serve the public and profession of
optometry by developing, administering, scoring, and reporting results of valid examinations that assess competence. PO 1 9
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NEWS FAQS

I N B E 0 Advancing the Assessment of Competence®
diy

NATIONAL BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY*
NBEO EXAMS REGISTRATION TEST DAY SCORING POLICIES ABOUT NBEO

SUBJECT MATTER EXPERTS

Advancing the Assessment of Competence®

Six-Time Limit

Six-Time Limit Policy The National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO), in furtherance of its mission to protect the public by
assessing the competence of candidate optometrists, must preserve the integrity of the NBEO entry-level examinations. To
effectuate this critical mission, the following policy provides certain limits on candidate eligibility.

Candidates seeking optometric licensure must receive a passing score on NBEO entry-level examinations within the first six
attempts. Once a candidate has reached the six-attempt limit, the candidate must utilize the following appeals process and be
approved by an appointed appeals committee of NBEO’s Board of Directors before the candidate is eligible to register for the exam
again. Under this policy, an “attempt” includes any instance where an examinee begins to take the exam. For the avoidance of
doubt, under the policy, an examinee who does not sit for any part of the exam is not deemed to have made an attempt.

—

. The candidate must have a sponsor who will assist the candidate in creating a remediation plan and support the candidate
in her/his next attempt if granted. The sponsor must be a CAO or CEO of an ACOE-accredited optometric institution or a member of a U.S.
state or Canadian provincial regulatory board.* Members of NBEO’s Board of Directors will not serve as sponsors. The remediation plan must
demonstrate the additional steps the candidate will undertake to prepare to take the exam an additional time and show how such steps will
make it likely that the candidate will successfully pass the exam. The remediation plan must be appropriately robust based on the candidate’s
exam performance history and particular circumstances.

N

. The candidate will submit an appeal via NBEO's online appeals platform with the proposed remediation plan, a letter
explaining the circumstances that led to the six-attempt limit being reached, why the candidate should be allowed an extra attempt, and a
letter from the candidate’s sponsor explaining why the sponsor supports the candidate's extra attempt.

w

. The Judicial Committee of NBEO’s Board of Directors or an ad hoc committee of the Board appointed by the President (the
“Committee”), will timely review the appeal and all related documentation. In appointing members of the Committee, NBEO will identify and
avoid any potential or perceived conflicts of interest.

~

. The Committee will consider all relevant written documentation in the appeal record, then deliberate and decide whether
the candidate’s appeal should be granted or denied. NBEO will send a letter to both the candidate and candidate’s sponsor notifying them of
the decision of the Committee. That decision will constitute NBEQO's final determination of the matter.

w

. If the committee agrees to allow an additional attempt on the exam, the candidate will have the opportunity to register for the next
examination following the completion of the agreed-upon remediation. The completion of remediation must be evidenced by a written
confirmation from the sponsor and emailed to NBEOAppeals@optometry.org. Once NBEO receives that confirmation, the candidate will be
eligible to register for the examination.

The six-time limit appeal has a non-refundable fee of $300.
Candidates who wish to appeal once they have reached their six time limit click here.

Effective January 1, 2022, a member of a U.S. state or Canadian provincial regulatory board will no longer sponsor candidates
who have exceeded the six-time limit.
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The TMOD exam assesses candidates’ clinical thinking and
decision-making with a particularly heavy emphasis on
diagnosis, treatment, and management of ocular disease.

The TMOD examination is composed of 100-120 items
presented as full cases, solo items, and minicases
administered in a single session. Candidates will have 2.75
hours to complete the exam. The TMOD is offered as a
stand-alone examination or as an embedded portion of
the PAM examination. Those candidates registering to
take the PAM exam do not also need to register for
TMOD. Candidates who may have passed the overall PAM
exam but did not pass the TMOD portion may elect to
register for the stand-alone version of the TMOD.

In order to be classified as a TMOD item, the content of
the item must pertain to one or more of the following:

e Formulation of most appropriate disease
diagnosis which will be treated and/or managed

e Selection of treatment/management, including
systemic considerations

e Dose, form, schedule, and duration of treatment

e Contraindications and side effects of medication,
including systemic considerations

e Follow-up and prognosis, including reassessment
of diagnosis after initiating treatment

e Treatment and management of ocular
emergencies and urgencies

Registration Exam Information Contact Us
Create an Account Exam Schedule Order a Certificate
Register for an Exam View Scores Report a Violation
200 S. College Street, L
OSLE Exam Verification

#2010
Charlotte, NC 28202
Toll Free: 800-969-

Co&%@m © 2020 National Board of Examiners in Optometry, Inc. All rights reserved.
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Title 16

PART 456 - OPHTHALMIC PRACTICE RULES (EYEGLASS RULE)

Authority: 15U.S.C. 57a;5U.S.C. 552.

Source: 57 FR 18822, May 1, 1992, unless otherwise noted.

§ 456.1 Definitions.

(@) A patientis any person who has had an eye examination.

(b) An eye examination is the process of determining the refractive condition of a person's eyes or the
presence of any visual anomaly by the use of objective or subjective tests.

(c) Ophthalmic goods are eyeglasses, or any component of eyeglasses, and contact lenses.

(d) Ophthalmic services are the measuring, fitting, and adjusting of ophthalmic goods subsequent to an
eye examination.

(e) An ophthalmologist is any Doctor of Medicine or Osteopathy who performs eye examinations.
(f) An optometrist is any Doctor of Optometry.

(9) A prescription is the written specifications for lenses for eyeglasses which are derived from an eye
examination, including all of the information specified by state law, if any, necessary to obtain
lenses for eyeglasses.

§ 456.2 Separation of examination and dispensing.

It is an unfair act or practice for an ophthalmologist or optometrist to:

(a) Fail to provide to the patient one copy of the patient's prescription immediately after the eye
examination is completed. Provided: An ophthalmologist or optometrist may refuse to give the
patient a copy of the patient's prescription until the patient has paid for the eye examination, but
only if that ophthalmologist or optometrist would have required immediate payment from that
patient had the examination revealed that no ophthalmic goods were required;

(b) Condition the availability of an eye examination to any person on a requirement that the patient
agree to purchase any ophthalmic goods from the ophthalmologist or optometrist;

(c) Charge the patient any fee in addition to the ophthalmologist's or optometrist's examination fee as a
condition to releasing the prescription to the patient. Provided: An ophthalmologist or optometrist
may charge an additional fee for verifying ophthalmic goods dispensed by another seller when the
additional fee is imposed at the time the verification is performed; or

(d) Place on the prescription, or require the patient to sign, or deliver to the patient a form or notice
waiving or disclaiming the liability or responsibility of the ophthalmologist or optometrist for the
accuracy of the eye examination or the accuracy of the ophthalmic goods and services dispensed
by another seller.
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§ 456.3 Federal or State employees.

This rule does not apply to ophthalmologists or optometrists employed by any Federal, State or local
government entity.

§ 456.4 Declaration of Commission Intent.

In prohibiting the use of waivers and disclaimers of liability in § 456.2(d), it is not the Commission's intent to
impose liability on an ophthalmologist or optometrist for the ophthalmic goods and services dispensed by
another seller pursuant to the ophthalmologist's or optometrist's prescription.

§ 456.5 Rules applicable to prescriptions for contact lenses and related issues.

Rules applicable to prescriptions for contact lenses and related issues may be found at 16 CFR part 315
(Contact Lens Rule).

[69 FR 40511, July 2, 2004]
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FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION

FTC Announces Final Amendments to the
Agency’s Contact Lens Rule

June 23, 2020

Changes will help more patients comparison shop for contact
lenses

Share This Page

TAGS: contactlens | Optometry | Bureau of Consumer Protection | Consumer Protection |

Advertising_and Marketing

The Federal Trade Commission today announced the approval of a final rule amending the agency’s Contact Lens Rule,
which facilitates shopping for contact lenses by requiring prescribers to automatically provide a copy of a patient’s
prescription to the patient and to verify or provide prescriptions to third-party sellers.

The Final Rule requires prescribers to request that their patients confirm that they have received their prescription, and
allows flexibility in the way the prescription and confirmation are provided.

“Eye doctors are required by law to provide every patient with a copy of his or her contact lens prescription, allowing
patients to comparison shop for lenses,” said Bureau of Consumer Protection Director Andrew Smith. “This rule change
will help to ensure that eye doctors fulfill their obligations, and will facilitate FTC enforcement of these important
requirements.”

Issuance of the Final Rule follows an extensive review and consideration of thousands of public comments and materials
received by the Commission between 2015 and 2019, including surveys, studies, analyses, and information generated at
an FTC workshop devoted to the Rule and the evolving contact lens marketplace. It also incorporates changes made in
response to public comments received following a supplemental notice of proposed rulemaking published in May 2019.

As detailed in a final notice of rulemaking to be published shortly, after a contact lens fitting, prescribers will be required to
do one of the following to confirm that a patient received their prescription:

request that the patient acknowledge receipt of the contact lens prescription by signing a separate confirmation
statement;

request that the patient sign a prescriber-retained copy of the prescription that contains a statement confirming the
patient has received it;
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request that the patient sign a prescriber-retained copy of the sales receipt for the examination that contains a
statement confirming the patient received the prescription; or

provide the patient with a digital copy of the prescription, and retain evidence that it was sent, received, or made
accessible, downloadable, and printable.

Prescribers must maintain proof that they satisfied the confirmation of prescription release requirement for at least three
years. If a patient refuses to sign a confirmation, prescribers must note this and save it to record their compliance.

The Final Rule also will affect prescribers in several other ways. First, it adds a new definition of the term “provide to the
patient a copy,” which will allow the prescriber—with the patient’s verifiable consent—to provide the patient with a digital
copy of her prescription instead of a paper copy. When seeking a patient’s consent, prescribers must tell the patient the
specific method of electronic delivery they will use, and must keep a record of the patient’s consent to that method for
three years. The Final Rule will also require prescribers to provide patients or their designated agents with an additional
copy of their prescriptions on request within 40 business hours.

The Final Rule includes several new requirements for sellers as well. To address concerns about sellers verifying
prescriptions by leaving incomplete or incomprehensible automated telephone messages with prescribers, sellers who
use automated telephone messages for verification must:

record the entire call and preserve the complete recording;
start the call by identifying it as a prescription verification request made in accordance with the Contact Lens Rule;

deliver the verification message in a slow and deliberate manner and at a volume that the prescriber can
understand; and

make the message repeatable at the prescriber’s option.

The Final Rule also includes modifications designed to reduce illegal prescription alterations by sellers. Under the Final
Rule, sellers must make prominently available a way for consumers to present their prescriptions, and must clearly
disclose that method. The method of presentation and related disclosure must be provided before requesting the
prescriber’s contact information to verify the prescription.

The Contact Lens Rule already prohibits prescription alteration, but the Final Rule defines “alteration” to include sellers
providing, as part of a verification request, a brand or manufacturer other than that prescribed to the consumer. There are
exceptions, however, for when the seller provides, as part of the verification request, the manufacturer or brand named by
the consumer in response to the seller’s request for the manufacturer or brand listed on the prescription. These changes
should reduce the incidence of sellers selling consumers lenses other than those that were prescribed. The Final Rule
also clarifies that the only permissible substitution involves private label lenses; private label and brand name lenses can
be substituted for each other when they are identical lenses made by the same manufacturer.

The Rule changes go into effect 60 days after publication in the Federal Register notice.
The Contact Lens Rule

In place since August 2004, the Rule imposes obligations on both eye-care prescribers and contact lens sellers. The
prescriber must automatically provide the patient with a complete copy of the contact lens prescription after completion of
a contact lens fitting, and also must verify or provide the prescription to authorized third parties. The Rule also requires
that contact lens vendors sell contact lenses only in accordance with a valid prescription the seller has received from
either the patient or prescriber, or has verified via direct communication with the prescriber.

The Commission vote approving publication of the final notice of rulemaking in the Federal Register was 5-0, with
Commissioner Rebecca Kelly Slaughter issuing a separate statement. The final notice will be published shortly.

The Federal Trade Commission works to promote competition and to protect and educate consumers. You can learn
more about consumer topics and file a consumer complaint online or by calling 1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357). For the
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latest news and resources, follow the FTC on social media, subscribe to press releases and read our blogs.

PRESS RELEASE REFERENCE:

FTC Sends Warning_Letters to Sellers of Cosmetic Contacts: All Contact Lens Purchases Require a Prescription from a
Medical Professional

ETC Seeks Additional Public Comment on Proposed Changes to the Contact Lens Rule

FTC to Host Workshop March 7 Examining_the Contact Lens Marketplace and Proposed Changes to the Commission’s
Contact Lens Rule

FTC Seeks Comment on Proposed Changes to Contact Lens Rule

Contact Information

MEDIA CONTACT:
Mitchell J. Katz

Office of Public Affairs
202-326-2161

STAFF CONTACT:

Alysa S. Bernstein

Bureau of Consumer Protection
202-326-3289
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PART 315—CONTACT LENS RULE

Contents

8315.1 Scope of requlations in this part.

8315.2 Definitions.

8315.3 Availability of contact lens prescriptions to patients.
8315.4 Limits on requiring immediate payment.

8315.5 Prescriber verification.

8315.6 Expiration of contact lens prescriptions.

8315.7 Content of advertisements and other representations.
8315.8 Prohibition of certain waivers.

8315.9 Enforcement.

8315.10 Severability.

8315.11 Effect on state and local laws.

AUTHORITY: Pub. L. 108-164, secs. 1-12; 117 Stat. 2024 (15 U.S.C. 7601-7610).

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.

16 CFR--PART 315

View Printed Federal Register page 85 FR 50717 in PDF format.
Amendment(s) published August 17, 2020, in 85 FR 50717
EFFECTIVE DATES: Oct. 16, 2020

1. The authority for part 315 is revised to read as follows:

AuTHORITY: 15 U.S.C. 7601-7610.

SOURCE: 69 FR 40508, July 2, 2004, unless otherwise noted.

4 Back to Top

8315.1 Scope of regulations in this part.

This part, which shall be called the “Contact Lens Rule,” implements the Fairness to Contact
Lens Consumers Act, codified at 15 U.S.C. 7601-7610, which requires that rules be issued to
address the release, verification, and sale of contact lens prescriptions. This part specifically governs
contact lens prescriptions and related issues. Part 456 of Title 16 governs the availability of eyeglass
prescriptions and related issues (the Ophthalmic Practice Rules (Eyeglass Rule)).

4 Back to Top
8315.2 Definitions.

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.
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Amendment:
16 CFR--PART 315

View Printed Federal Register page 85 FR 50717 in PDF format.

Amendment(s) published August 17, 2020, in 85 FR 50717
EFFECTIVE DATES: Oct. 16, 2020

2. Amend §315.2 by adding in alphabetical order the definitions of “Provide to the patient a copy”,
“Reasonably understandable volume” and “Slow and deliberate manner” to read as follows:

8315.2 Definitions.
Provide to the patient a copy means giving a patient a copy of his or her contact lens prescription:
(2) On paper; or

(2) In a digital format that can be accessed, downloaded, and printed by the patient. For a copy
provided in a digital format, the prescriber shall identify to the patient the specific method or methods
of electronic delivery to be used, such as text message, electronic mail, or an online patient portal,
and obtain the patient's verifiable affirmative consent to receive a digital copy through the identified
method or methods; and maintain records or evidence of a patient's affirmative consent for a period
of not less than three years. Such records or evidence shall be available for inspection by the
Federal Trade Commission, its employees, and its representatives.

Reasonably understandable volume means at an audible level that renders the message intelligible
to the receiving audience.

Slow and deliberate manner means at a rate that renders the message intelligible to the receiving
audience

For purposes of this part, the following definitions shall apply:

Business hour means an hour between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., during a weekday (Monday through
Friday), excluding Federal holidays. “Business hour” also may include, at the seller's option, a
prescriber's regular business hours on Saturdays, provided that the seller has actual knowledge of
these hours. “Business hour” shall be determined based on the time zone of the prescriber.

“Eight (8) business hours” shall be calculated from the time the prescriber receives the
prescription verification information from the seller, and shall conclude when eight (8) business hours
have elapsed. For verification requests received by a prescriber during non-business hours, the
calculation of “eight (8) business hours” shall begin at 9 a.m. on the next weekday that is not a
Federal holiday or, if applicable, on Saturday at the beginning of the prescriber's actual business
hours.

Commission means the Federal Trade Commission.

Contact lens means any contact lens for which State or Federal law requires a prescription.
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Contact lens fitting means the process that begins after an initial eye examination for contact
lenses and ends when a successful fit has been achieved or, in the case of a renewal prescription,
ends when the prescriber determines that no change in the existing prescription is required, and
such term may include:

(1) An examination to determine lens specifications;

(2) Except in the case of a renewal of a contact lens prescription, an initial evaluation of the fit
of the contact lens on the eye; and

(3) Medically necessary follow-up examinations.

Contact lens prescription means a prescription, issued in accordance with State and Federal
law, that contains sufficient information for the complete and accurate filling of a prescription for
contact lenses, including the following:

(1) The name of the patient;
(2) The date of examination;
(3) The issue date and expiration date of prescription;

(4) The name, postal address, telephone number, and facsimile telephone number of
prescriber;

(5) The power, material or manufacturer or both of the prescribed contact lens;
(6) The base curve or appropriate designation of the prescribed contact lens;
(7) The diameter, when appropriate, of the prescribed contact lens; and

(8) In the case of a private label contact lens, the name of the manufacturer, trade name of the
private label brand, and, if applicable, trade name of equivalent brand name.

Direct communication means completed communication by telephone, facsimile, or electronic
mail.

Issue date means the date on which the patient receives a copy of the prescription at the
completion of a contact lens fitting.

Ophthalmic goods are contact lenses, eyeglasses, or any component of eyeglasses.

Ophthalmic services are the measuring, fitting, and adjusting of ophthalmic goods subsequent
to an eye examination.

Prescriber means, with respect to contact lens prescriptions, an ophthalmologist, optometrist,
or other person permitted under State law to issue prescriptions for contact lenses in compliance
with any applicable requirements established by the Food and Drug Administration. “Other person,”
for purposes of this definition, includes a dispensing optician who is permitted under State law to
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issue prescriptions and who is authorized or permitted under State law to perform contact lens fitting
services.

Private label contact lenses mean contact lenses that are sold under the label of a seller where
the contact lenses are identical to lenses made by the same manufacturer but sold under the labels
of other sellers.

4 Back to Top
8315.3 Availability of contact lens prescriptions to patients.

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.

Amendment:
16 CFR--PART 315

View Printed Federal Register page 85 FR 50717 in PDF format.

Amendment(s) published August 17, 2020, in 85 FR 50717

EFFECTIVE DATES: Oct. 16, 2020

3. Amend §315.3 by:

a. Revising paragraphs (a)(1) and (2);

b. Adding paragraph (a)(3);

c. Revising paragraphs (b)(1) through (3); and

d. Adding paragraph (c).

The additions and revisions read as follows:

8315.3 Availability of contact lens prescriptions to patients.

(a) In general. When a prescriber completes a contact lens fitting, the prescriber:

(1) Whether or not requested by the patient, shall provide to the patient a copy of the contact lens
prescription;

(2) Shall, as directed by any person designated to act on behalf of the patient, verify the contact lens
prescription by electronic or other means; and

(3) Shall, upon request, provide any person designated to act on behalf of the patient with a copy of
the patient's contact lens prescription by electronic or other means within forty (40) business hours of
receipt of the request. A prescriber shall note in the patient's record the name of the requester and
the date and time that the prescription was provided to the requester.
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(b) Limitations. A prescriber may not:

(1) Require the purchase of contact lenses from the prescriber or from another person as a condition
of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(3) of this section or as a condition
of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section;

(2) Require payment in addition to, or as part of, the fee for an eye examination, fitting, and
evaluation as a condition of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(3) of this
section or as a condition of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section; or

(3) Require the patient to sign a waiver or release as a condition of releasing or verifying a
prescription under paragraph (a)(1), (a)(2), or (a)(3) of this section.

(c) Confirmation of prescription release. (1)(i) Upon completion of a contact lens fitting, the
prescriber shall do one of the following:

(A) Request that the patient acknowledge receipt of the contact lens prescription by signing a
statement confirming receipt of the contact lens prescription;

(B) Request that the patient sign a prescriber-retained copy of a contact lens prescription that
contains a statement confirming receipt of the contact lens prescription;

(C) Request that the patient sign a prescriber-retained copy of the receipt for the examination that
contains a statement confirming receipt of the contact lens prescription; or

(D) If a digital copy of the prescription was provided to the patient (via methods including an online
portal, electronic mail, or text message) in compliance with paragraph (a)(1) of this section, retain
evidence that the prescription was sent, received, or made accessible, downloadable, and printable.

(ii) If the prescriber elects to confirm prescription release via paragraphs (c)(1)(i)(A), (B), or (C) of
this section, the prescriber may, but is not required to, use the statement, “My eye care professional
provided me with a copy of my contact lens prescription at the completion of my contact lens fitting”
to satisfy the requirement.

(iii) In the event the patient declines to sign a confirmation requested under paragraph (c)(1)(i)(A),
(B), or (C) of this section, the prescriber shall note the patient's refusal on the document and sign it.

(2) A prescriber shall maintain the records or evidence required under paragraph (c)(1) of this
section for a period of not less than three years. Such records or evidence shall be available for
inspection by the Federal Trade Commission, its employees, and its representatives.

(3) Paragraphs (c)(1) and (c)(2) of this section shall not apply to prescribers who do not have a direct
or indirect financial interest in the sale of contact lenses, including, but not limited to, through an
association, affiliation, or co-location with a contact lens seller.

(a) In general. When a prescriber completes a contact lens fitting, the prescriber:

(1) Whether or not requested by the patient, shall provide to the patient a copy of the contact
lens prescription; and
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(2) Shall, as directed by any person designated to act on behalf of the patient, provide or verify
the contact lens prescription by electronic or other means.

(b) Limitations. A prescriber may not:

(1) Require the purchase of contact lenses from the prescriber or from another person as a
condition of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this section or as a
condition of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section;

(2) Require payment in addition to, or as part of, the fee for an eye examination, fitting, and

evaluation as a condition of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this
section or as a condition of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section; or

(3) Require the patient to sign a waiver or release as a condition of releasing or verifying a
prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this section.

4 Back to Top

8315.4 Limits on requiring immediate payment.

A prescriber may require payment of fees for an eye examination, fitting, and evaluation before
the release of a contact lens prescription, but only if the prescriber requires immediate payment in
the case of an examination that reveals no requirement for ophthalmic goods. For purposes of the
preceding sentence, presentation of proof of insurance coverage for that service shall be deemed to
be a payment.

4 Back to Top

8315.5 Prescriber verification.

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.

Amendment:
16 CFR--PART 315

View Printed Federal Register page 85 FR 50717 in PDF format.

Amendment(s) published August 17, 2020, in 85 FR 50717

EFFECTIVE DATES: Oct. 16, 2020

4. Amend 8315.5 by:

a. Redesignating paragraphs (d), (e), (f), and (g) as paragraphs (e), (f), (h), and (i), respectively;
b. Adding new paragraph (d);

c. Revising newly redesignated paragraph (f);
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d. Adding new paragraph (g);

e. Adding new paragraph (h)(2)(iii);

f. Revising newly redesignated paragraph (i).
The additions and revisions read as follows:
8315.5 Prescriber verification.

* * % * *

(d) Automated telephone verification messages. If a seller verifies prescriptions through calls that
use, in whole or in part, an automated message, the seller must:

(1) Record the entire call;

(2) Commence the call by identifying it as a request for prescription verification made in accordance
with the Contact Lens Rule;

(3) Deliver the information required by paragraph (b) of this section in a slow and deliberate manner
and at a reasonably understandable volume; and

(4) Make the information required by paragraph (b) of this section repeatable at the prescriber's
option.

* * * % *

() No alteration of prescription. A seller may not alter a contact lens prescription. In the context of
prescription verification, alteration includes, but is not limited to, providing the prescriber with the
name of a manufacturer or brand other than that specified by the patient's prescription, unless such
name is provided because the patient entered or orally provided it when asked for the manufacturer
or brand listed on the patient's prescription. Notwithstanding the preceding sentences, for private
label contact lenses, a seller may substitute for contact lenses specified on a prescription identical
contact lenses that the same company manufactures and sells under different labels.

(g) Seller requirement to accept prescription presentation: A seller shall provide a prominent method,
and a clear and prominent disclosure of that method, for the patient to present the seller with a copy
of the patient's prescription. Such method and the disclosure shall be provided prior to requesting a
prescriber's contact information for verification of the prescription; provided, however, in the case of
an order placed by telephone, a seller shall comply by providing a disclosure of the method prior to
requesting a prescriber's contact information for verification of the prescription. The method to
present the prescription shall be provided through (i) the same medium by which the order is placed,
or (ii) electronic mail, text message, or file upload.

(h)* * %

(2)* * *
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(iii) If the communication occurs via telephone and uses an automated message, the complete
recording required pursuant to paragraph (d)(1) of this section.

* * * * *

(i) Recordkeeping requirement—Saturday business hours. A seller that exercises its option to
include a prescriber's regular Saturday business hours in the time period for a request for a copy of
the prescription specified in 8315.3(a)(3) or for verification specified in paragraph (c)(3) of this
section shall maintain a record of the prescriber's regular Saturday business hours and the basis for
the seller's actual knowledge thereof. Such records shall be maintained for a period of not less than
three years, and these records must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade Commission,
its employees, and its representatives.

(a) Prescription requirement. A seller may sell contact lenses only in accordance with a contact
lens prescription for the patient that is:

(1) Presented to the seller by the patient or prescriber directly or by facsimile; or
(2) Verified by direct communication.

(b) Information for verification. When seeking verification of a contact lens prescription, a seller
shall provide the prescriber with the following information through direct communication:

(1) The patient's full name and address;

(2) The contact lens power, manufacturer, base curve or appropriate designation, and diameter
when appropriate;

(3) The quantity of lenses ordered,;
(4) The date of patient request;
(5) The date and time of verification request;

(6) The name of a contact person at the seller's company, including facsimile and telephone
numbers; and

(7) If the seller opts to include the prescriber's regular business hours on Saturdays as
“business hours” for purposes of paragraph (c)(3) of this section, a clear statement of the
prescriber's regular Saturday business hours.

(c) Verification events. A prescription is verified under paragraph (a)(2) of this section only if
one of the following occurs:

(1) The prescriber confirms the prescription is accurate by direct communication with the seller;

(2) The prescriber informs the seller through direct communication that the prescription is
inaccurate and provides the accurate prescription; or
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(3) The prescriber fails to communicate with the seller within eight (8) business hours after
receiving from the seller the information described in paragraph (b) of this section. During these
eight (8) business hours, the seller shall provide a reasonable opportunity for the prescriber to
communicate with the seller concerning the verification request.

(d) Invalid prescription. If a prescriber informs a seller before the deadline under paragraph
(c)(3) of this section that the contact lens prescription is inaccurate, expired, or otherwise invalid, the
seller shall not fill the prescription. The prescriber shall specify the basis for the inaccuracy or
invalidity of the prescription. If the prescription communicated by the seller to the prescriber is
inaccurate, the prescriber shall correct it, and the prescription shall then be deemed verified under
paragraph (c)(2) of this section.

(e) No alteration of prescription. A seller may not alter a contact lens prescription.
Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, a seller may substitute for private label contact lenses
specified on a prescription identical contact lenses that the same company manufactures and sells
under different labels.

(f) Recordkeeping requirement—verification requests. A seller shall maintain a record of all
direct communications referred to in paragraph (a) of this section. Such record shall consist of the
following:

(1) For prescriptions presented to the seller: the prescription itself, or the facsimile version
thereof (including an email containing a digital image of the prescription), that was presented to the
seller by the patient or prescriber.

(2) For verification requests by the seller:

(i) If the communication occurs via facsimile or e-mail, a copy of the verification request,
including the information provided to the prescriber pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section, and
confirmation of the completed transmission thereof, including a record of the date and time the
request was made;

(ii) If the communication occurs via telephone, a log:

(A) Describing the information provided pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section,
(B) Setting forth the date and time the request was made,

(C) Indicating how the call was completed, and

(D) Listing the names of the individuals who participated in the call.

(3) For communications from the prescriber, including prescription verifications:

(i) If the communication occurs via facsimile or e-mail, a copy of the communication and a
record of the time and date it was received,

(i) If the communication occurs via telephone, a log describing the information communicated,
the date and time that the information was received, and the names of the individuals who
participated in the call.
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(4) The records required to be maintained under this section shall be maintained for a period of
not less than three years, and these records must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade
Commission, its employees, and its representatives.

(g9) Recordkeeping requirement—Saturday business hours. A seller that exercises its option to
include a prescriber's regular Saturday business hours in the time period for verification specified in
8315.5(c)(3) shall maintain a record of the prescriber's regular Saturday business hours and the
basis for the seller's actual knowledge thereof. Such records shall be maintained for a period of not
less than three years, and these records must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade
Commission, its employees, and its representatives.

% Back to Top
8315.6 Expiration of contact lens prescriptions.
(a) In general. A contact lens prescription shall expire:

(1) On the date specified by the law of the State in which the prescription was written, if that
date is one year or more after the issue date of the prescription;

(2) Not less than one year after the issue date of the prescription if such State law specifies no
date or specifies a date that is less than one year after the issue date of the prescription; or

(3) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this section, on the date specified by the
prescriber, if that date is based on the medical judgment of the prescriber with respect to the ocular
health of the patient.

(b) Special rules for prescriptions of less than one year. (1) If a prescription expires in less than
one year, the specific reasons for the medical judgment referred to in paragraph (a)(3) of this section
shall be documented in the patient's medical record with sufficient detail to allow for review by a
qualified professional in the field.

(2) The documentation described in the paragraph above shall be maintained for a period of not
less than three years, and it must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade Commission, its
employees, and its representatives.

(3) No prescriber shall include an expiration date on a prescription that is less than the period of
time that he or she recommends for a reexamination of the patient that is medically necessary.

% Back to Top

8315.7 Content of advertisements and other representations.

Any person who engages in the manufacture, processing, assembly, sale, offering for sale, or
distribution of contact lenses may not represent, by advertisement, sales presentation, or otherwise,
that contact lenses may be obtained without a prescription.

& Back to Top

8315.8 Prohibition of certain waivers.
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A prescriber may not place on a prescription, or require the patient to sign, or deliver to the
patient, a form or notice waiving or disclaiming the liability or responsibility of the prescriber for the
accuracy of the eye examination. The preceding sentence does not impose liability on a prescriber
for the ophthalmic goods and services dispensed by another seller pursuant to the prescriber's
correctly verified prescription.

4 Back to Top

§315.9 Enforcement.

Any violation of this Rule shall be treated as a violation of a rule under section 18 of the Federal
Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. 57a, regarding unfair or deceptive acts or practices, and the
Commission will enforce this Rule in the same manner, by the same means, and with the same

jurisdiction, powers, and duties as are available to it pursuant to the Federal Trade Commission Act,
15 U.S.C. 41 et seq.

4 Back to Top

§315.10 Severability.

The provisions of this part are separate and severable from one another. If any provision is
stayed or determined to be invalid, it is the Commission's intention that the remaining provisions
shall continue in effect.

% Back to Top
8315.11 Effect on state and local laws.

(a) State and local laws and regulations that establish a prescription expiration date of less than
one year or that restrict prescription release or require active verification are preempted.

(b) Any other State or local laws or regulations that are inconsistent with the Act or this part are
preempted to the extent of the inconsistency.

& Back to Top
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Federal holiday or, if applicable, on Saturday at the beginning of the prescriber's actual business
hours.

Commission means the Federal Trade Commission.
Contact lens means any contact lens for which State or Federal law requires a prescription.

Contact lens fitting means the process that begins after an initial eye examination for contact
lenses and ends when a successful fit has been achieved or, in the case of a renewal prescription,
ends when the prescriber determines that no change in the existing prescription is required, and
such term may include:

(1) An examination to determine lens specifications;

(2) Except in the case of a renewal of a contact lens prescription, an initial evaluation of the fit
of the contact lens on the eye; and

(3) Medically necessary follow-up examinations.

Contact lens prescription means a prescription, issued in accordance with State and Federal
law, that contains sufficient information for the complete and accurate filling of a prescription for
contact lenses, including the following:

(1) The name of the patient;
(2) The date of examination;
(3) The issue date and expiration date of prescription;

(4) The name, postal address, telephone number, and facsimile telephone number of
prescriber;

(5) The power, material or manufacturer or both of the prescribed contact lens;
(6) The base curve or appropriate designation of the prescribed contact lens;
(7) The diameter, when appropriate, of the prescribed contact lens; and

(8) In the case of a private label contact lens, the name of the manufacturer, trade name of the
private label brand, and, if applicable, trade name of equivalent brand name.

Direct communication means completed communication by telephone, facsimile, or electronic
mail.

Issue date means the date on which the patient receives a copy of the prescription at the
completion of a contact lens fitting.

Ophthalmic goods are contact lenses, eyeglasses, or any component of eyeglasses.
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Ophthalmic services are the measuring, fitting, and adjusting of ophthalmic goods subsequent
to an eye examination.

Prescriber means, with respect to contact lens prescriptions, an ophthalmologist, optometrist,
or other person permitted under State law to issue prescriptions for contact lenses in compliance
with any applicable requirements established by the Food and Drug Administration. “Other person,”
for purposes of this definition, includes a dispensing optician who is permitted under State law to
issue prescriptions and who is authorized or permitted under State law to perform contact lens fitting
services.

Private label contact lenses mean contact lenses that are sold under the label of a seller where
the contact lenses are identical to lenses made by the same manufacturer but sold under the labels
of other sellers.

% Back to Top
8315.3 Availability of contact lens prescriptions to patients.

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.

(a) In general. When a prescriber completes a contact lens fitting, the prescriber:

(1) Whether or not requested by the patient, shall provide to the patient a copy of the contact
lens prescription; and

(2) Shall, as directed by any person designated to act on behalf of the patient, provide or verify
the contact lens prescription by electronic or other means.

(b) Limitations. A prescriber may not:

(1) Require the purchase of contact lenses from the prescriber or from another person as a
condition of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this section or as a
condition of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section;

(2) Require payment in addition to, or as part of, the fee for an eye examination, fitting, and
evaluation as a condition of providing a copy of a prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this
section or as a condition of verification of a prescription under paragraph (a)(2) of this section; or

(3) Require the patient to sign a waiver or release as a condition of releasing or verifying a
prescription under paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2) of this section.

4 Back to Top

8315.4 Limits on requiring immediate payment.

A prescriber may require payment of fees for an eye examination, fitting, and evaluation before
the release of a contact lens prescription, but only if the prescriber requires immediate payment in
the case of an examination that reveals no requirement for ophthalmic goods. For purposes of the
preceding sentence, presentation of proof of insurance coverage for that service shall be deemed to
be a payment.
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8315.5 Prescriber verification.

Link to an amendment published at 85 FR 50717, Aug. 17, 2020.

(a) Prescription requirement. A seller may sell contact lenses only in accordance with a contact
lens prescription for the patient that is:

(1) Presented to the seller by the patient or prescriber directly or by facsimile; or
(2) Verified by direct communication.

(b) Information for verification. When seeking verification of a contact lens prescription, a seller
shall provide the prescriber with the following information through direct communication:

(1) The patient's full name and address;

(2) The contact lens power, manufacturer, base curve or appropriate designation, and diameter
when appropriate;

(3) The quantity of lenses ordered;
(4) The date of patient request;
(5) The date and time of verification request;

(6) The name of a contact person at the seller's company, including facsimile and telephone
numbers; and

(7) If the seller opts to include the prescriber's regular business hours on Saturdays as
“business hours” for purposes of paragraph (c)(3) of this section, a clear statement of the
prescriber's regular Saturday business hours.

(c) Verification events. A prescription is verified under paragraph (a)(2) of this section only if
one of the following occurs:

(1) The prescriber confirms the prescription is accurate by direct communication with the seller;

(2) The prescriber informs the seller through direct communication that the prescription is
inaccurate and provides the accurate prescription; or

(3) The prescriber fails to communicate with the seller within eight (8) business hours after
receiving from the seller the information described in paragraph (b) of this section. During these
eight (8) business hours, the seller shall provide a reasonable opportunity for the prescriber to
communicate with the seller concerning the verification request.

(d) Invalid prescription. If a prescriber informs a seller before the deadline under paragraph
(c)(3) of this section that the contact lens prescription is inaccurate, expired, or otherwise invalid, the
seller shall not fill the prescription. The prescriber shall specify the basis for the inaccuracy or
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invalidity of the prescription. If the prescription communicated by the seller to the prescriber is
inaccurate, the prescriber shall correct it, and the prescription shall then be deemed verified under
paragraph (c)(2) of this section.

(e) No alteration of prescription. A seller may not alter a contact lens prescription.
Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, a seller may substitute for private label contact lenses
specified on a prescription identical contact lenses that the same company manufactures and sells
under different labels.

(f) Recordkeeping requirement—verification requests. A seller shall maintain a record of all
direct communications referred to in paragraph (a) of this section. Such record shall consist of the
following:

(1) For prescriptions presented to the seller: the prescription itself, or the facsimile version
thereof (including an email containing a digital image of the prescription), that was presented to the
seller by the patient or prescriber.

(2) For verification requests by the seller:

(i) If the communication occurs via facsimile or e-mail, a copy of the verification request,
including the information provided to the prescriber pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section, and
confirmation of the completed transmission thereof, including a record of the date and time the
request was made;

(i) If the communication occurs via telephone, a log:

(A) Describing the information provided pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section,
(B) Setting forth the date and time the request was made,

(C) Indicating how the call was completed, and

(D) Listing the names of the individuals who participated in the call.

(3) For communications from the prescriber, including prescription verifications:

(i) If the communication occurs via facsimile or e-mail, a copy of the communication and a
record of the time and date it was received;

(i) If the communication occurs via telephone, a log describing the information communicated,
the date and time that the information was received, and the names of the individuals who
participated in the call.

(4) The records required to be maintained under this section shall be maintained for a period of
not less than three years, and these records must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade
Commission, its employees, and its representatives.

(9) Recordkeeping requirement—Saturday business hours. A seller that exercises its option to
include a prescriber's regular Saturday business hours in the time period for verification specified in
§315.5(c)(3) shall maintain a record of the prescriber's regular Saturday business hours and the
basis for the seller's actual knowledge thereof. Such records shall be maintained for a period of not
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less than three years, and these records must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade
Commission, its employees, and its representatives.
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8315.6 Expiration of contact lens prescriptions.
(a) In general. A contact lens prescription shall expire:

(1) On the date specified by the law of the State in which the prescription was written, if that
date is one year or more after the issue date of the prescription;

(2) Not less than one year after the issue date of the prescription if such State law specifies no
date or specifies a date that is less than one year after the issue date of the prescription; or

(3) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this section, on the date specified by the
prescriber, if that date is based on the medical judgment of the prescriber with respect to the ocular
health of the patient.

(b) Special rules for prescriptions of less than one year. (1) If a prescription expires in less than
one year, the specific reasons for the medical judgment referred to in paragraph (a)(3) of this section
shall be documented in the patient's medical record with sufficient detail to allow for review by a
qualified professional in the field.

(2) The documentation described in the paragraph above shall be maintained for a period of not
less than three years, and it must be available for inspection by the Federal Trade Commission, its
employees, and its representatives.

(3) No prescriber shall include an expiration date on a prescription that is less than the period of
time that he or she recommends for a reexamination of the patient that is medically necessary.

& Back to Top

8315.7 Content of advertisements and other representations.
Any person who engages in the manufacture, processing, assembly, sale, offering for sale, or

distribution of contact lenses may not represent, by advertisement, sales presentation, or otherwise,
that contact lenses may be obtained without a prescription.

% Back to Top

8315.8 Prohibition of certain waivers.

A prescriber may not place on a prescription, or require the patient to sign, or deliver to the
patient, a form or notice waiving or disclaiming the liability or responsibility of the prescriber for the
accuracy of the eye examination. The preceding sentence does not impose liability on a prescriber
for the ophthalmic goods and services dispensed by another seller pursuant to the prescriber's
correctly verified prescription.

& Back to Top
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8315.9 Enforcement.

Any violation of this Rule shall be treated as a violation of a rule under section 18 of the Federal
Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. 57a, regarding unfair or deceptive acts or practices, and the
Commission will enforce this Rule in the same manner, by the same means, and with the same
jurisdiction, powers, and duties as are available to it pursuant to the Federal Trade Commission Act,
15 U.S.C. 41 et seq.
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8315.10 Severability.

The provisions of this part are separate and severable from one another. If any provision is
stayed or determined to be invalid, it is the Commission's intention that the remaining provisions
shall continue in effect.
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8315.11 Effect on state and local laws.

(a) State and local laws and regulations that establish a prescription expiration date of less than
one year or that restrict prescription release or require active verification are preempted.

(b) Any other State or local laws or regulations that are inconsistent with the Act or this part are
preempted to the extent of the inconsistency.
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